Wokingham Schools Elect Youth MP

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Pupils from senior schools acrossWokingham Borough have elected a new Youth MP and a Vice Youth MP.

The programme is run by the BritishYouth Council, to give opportunities to young people to use their elected voiceto bring about social change through meaningful representation and campaigning.

In the autumn, participating schoolselected a candidate to be put forward as a prospective Youth MP. These studentsmet on Monday January 7 in the council chamber with Borough Mayor Cllr JohnKaiser and council officers.

They were accompanied by five fellowstudents, who then became the electorate. The candidates each gave athree-minute speech and answered questions, prior to a ballot. 


Charlotte Stokes, Year 11 at StCrispin’s School was elected Youth MP and Euan Bell, Year 11 at The PiggottSchool was elected Vice Youth MP.

Charlotte and Euan will have theopportunity to organise events and projects, run campaigns and influencedecision makers on the issues that matter most to them, as well as to meet atthe UK Youth Parliament Annual Sitting and UK Youth Parliament House of CommonsSitting.

Wokingham Borough Mayor Cllr JohnKaiser said, “This is a great opportunity for Wokingham Borough’s young people tohave a taste of politics at such a young age and to use their voices to bringthe issues that are important to them to light. Wokingham Borough Councilsupports this programme and we look forward to working closely with Charlotteand Euan over the next year.”


The other pupils who ran for officeare Humayan Tufail (Bulmershe School), Hermani Rull (The Holt School), VarniethanKetheeswaran (Maiden Erlegh School), Charlotte Ranwell (Oakbank School) and JessicaKent (Waingels College).